Expands the main menu


Our Inspector General

Tammy Whitcomb Hull

Tammy Hull | Inspector General, United States Postal Service

The Governors of the U.S. Postal Service appointed Tammy Hull as the third Inspector General of the U.S. Postal Service on November 29, 2018. Prior to her appointment, Ms. Hull served as the Acting Inspector General for the U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General (OIG) since February 2016. She also served as the Deputy Inspector General from November 2011 to February 2016. In years prior, Ms. Hull served as the Assistant Inspector General for Audit. Ms. Hull came to the OIG in November 2005 as an Audit Director.

Ms. Hull started her government career at the Internal Revenue Service Inspection Service and transitioned with them as a part of the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration (TIGTA), established in early 1999. During her career at TIGTA, she was an audit manager in Dallas, TX for several years before coming to Washington D.C. as the Director of the Office of Management and Policy.

Since January 2023, Ms. Hull also serves as the Vice Chairperson of the Council of Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE).

Ms. Hull holds a Bachelor of Accounting and Business Administration degree from W. J. Bryan College in Dayton, TN and is a Certified Public Accountant.

On February 2, 2023, Women in Logistics and Delivery Services (WILDS) honored Ms. Hull with the second annual Megan J. Brennan Award for Excellence.

BACKGROUND:  The Postal Service Office of Inspector General (OIG) was created by Public Law 104-208, which was passed by Congress in the fall of 1996. In 2022, Congress enacted the Postal Service Reform Act (Public Law 117-108), which placed the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC) under the oversight jurisdiction of the OIG. The Inspector General reports to the Postal Service's nine Presidentially appointed Governors and the five PRC Commissioners and serves for a renewable term of seven years. The 2022 act also states the IG will be appointed by a majority of both the Governors and PRC commissioners and may be removed only for cause and by the written concurrence of at least seven Governors and three of the five PRC commissioners. To ensure accountability, the Inspector General keeps Congress, the Governors, the PRC Commissioners, and Postal Service management informed of the office’s work and alerted to potential areas where the Postal Service could be more economical and efficient.