Clipboard with paper titled "sexual harassment"
  • Project Title:
  • USPS Response to Sexual Harassment Complaints
  • Start Date:
  • Monday, October 4, 2021
  • Estimated Report Release Date:
  • August 2022

The U.S. Postal Service must maintain a work environment free of sexual harassment for its employees. Sexual harassment includes unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical harassment of a sexual nature. Sexual harassment can also include sexual assault or rape. The objective of the audit is to evaluate the U.S. Postal Service’s response to sexual harassment complaints involving Postal Service employees, including how complaints are reported, investigated, and resolved. 

Please note that Audit Asks questions are intended to collect ongoing feedback for audit projects. You can make your comment anonymous by not including your name or email in the comment submission form. However, please note that if you do add your email information in the form, it will be viewable to the OIG audit team but will not be posted on the website. 

  1. Are you aware of the processes for reporting complaints of sexual harassment in the USPS workplace? Please describe your understanding of how USPS employees can submit a sexual harassment complaint.
  2. If you have reported sexual harassment at the USPS, please describe your experience with the complaint reporting process. What actions did the Postal Service take to respond to your complaint?
  3. If you have experienced sexual harassment at the USPS but did not report it, please tell us why you decided not to file a complaint.
  4. What comments or concerns, if any, do you have about how the Postal Service responds to sexual harassment complaints?

Comments (22)

IMPORTANT – PLEASE NOTE: Complaints about the Postal Service – including lost, stolen, or mishandled mail – that are unrelated to the content on this page will not be posted. Please visit the Contact Us page for information on where to file formal complaints with our agency or the Postal Service.

Leave a comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
  • anon

    I have witnessed management harass employees sexually and verbally, also management has allowed harassment intimidating acts and threats to take place which escalates to violence in some instances.. Zero Tolerance is only for certain people when the good ol boys system wants it to be bc I've been threatened and soon as I reported it I was ambushed by OIG saying they got a complaint about me having a firearm and had to search my vehicle which turned up false and the initial report hadn't been investigated! They hate when you cause ripples & waves disrupting their program but its like reality tv working here you just cant make this stuff up "insert laughing emojis"

    Jan 05, 2022
  • anon

    USPS does not take action when it comes to keeping victims safe its kind of as if they tolerate it to an extent when it shouldn't be tolerated at all. I was fired and accused of lying after reaching out to my MDO Mary O about my situation. She claimed she spent federal money on an investigation but never spoke to any other the witnesses that could corroborate my story.

    Jan 05, 2022
  • anon

    Prevent Harassment Before It Becomes Severe or Pervasive In addition to responding promptly, the goal of the anti-harassment policy is to prevent harassment before it becomes severe or pervasive. Harassment is the one type of discrimination that can be stopped in progress.

    Dec 29, 2021
  • anon

    If the employee files an EEO complaint, the managers were not permitted to initiate an inquiry. The EEOC advised the agency that it has a duty to exercise due care by launching an internal investigation regardless of whether an EEO complaint is filed. Educating Employees about Harassment May Reduce High Numbers of Non- Sexual Harassment Claims This section of the report will address the high number of non-sexual harassment complaints that occur in the EEO process as well as the possible reasons for such high numbers.

    Dec 28, 2021
  • anon

    Thank you for providing comments to this Audit Ask. All comments provided will help the audit team in evaluating how complaints are reported, investigated, and resolved by USPS. Please keep in mind, according to federal law and USPS policy, you have a right to work in an environment free of sexual harassment. It is important that USPS OIG hear from you if you have information or concerns about sexual harassment within the workplace.

    Dec 27, 2021
  • anon

    The Zero Tolerance Policy is a joke I have been harassed by manager for about 6 years .filed 50 greivances ,2 EEo, no previous discipline , The mangers constantly harass me about everything ,make fun of me on workroom floor , They have told me I could not talk that if I wanted to ask them something to write it on piece of paper and give it to them ,this was a direct order in writing from supervisor. I have been denied overtime , denied leave for doctor visit for an on the job injury and when i use sick leave charged with AWOL? I filed on them for harrassment and they turned it around on me and asked if I knew if the PO had a Zero Harrassment Policy. This isn't for employees it is for managers to use aganist employees that question them ???

    Dec 21, 2021
  • anon

    What about bullying and management condoning it? We have a psychopath at work that manipulates management into having a permit to harass and do whatever he wants yet every manager gives him this right. 39 years

    Dec 30, 2021
  • anon

    How should my 29 yr old son in law report harassment as a citizen by a female worker in Oxford Maine? She stated out loud that she’d love it if he would take his shirt off for her in the lobby. Her co worker told her she could lose her job. He went in to pick up pkgs their carrier refused to deliver for unknown reasons. They withheld all the paper mail too for no known reason.

    Dec 20, 2021
  • anon

    I was acting as a 204B, and happened to walk up to an MDO, an SDO and another 204B, all male, having a conversation about some of the women who worked in the area. The MDO called one woman a p***y, and another a c**t. Then he looked directly at me and asked what derogatory name for a woman offends me. I was so shocked, and had no idea how to answer him, when the SDO told him that he was being inappropriate talking to me like that. The MDO and the other 204B laughed, and I walked away. I did not report it, because the MDO was my boss, and I had no idea how to report it. I also knew that management in our building is a "good ole boys club" and it would just come back on me.

    Dec 15, 2021
  • anon

    This has happened to me for almost 30 years and nothing has ever been done .sometimes things settle down because they get tired of me not responding but there's alot of nuts and when they get bored they start up again . I can't do anything for lack of retaliation

    Dec 30, 2021
  • anon

    I am a male working for the U.S. Postal service going on 29 years. I am a disabled vet from the U.S. Army. In 2018 a co-worker started spreading rumors around the postal service where we work that I was a child molester. I reached out to management and they basically tried to throw it under the rug because she is friends with management and for some reason doesn't like me. I filed an EEO on management because they failed to investigate the problem

    Dec 15, 2021
  • anon

    Management does not investigate sexual harassment allegations involving management harassing craft employees. I reported a Supervisor for sexual harassment, and was immediately pulled into the office and threatened by the MDO. He threatened to have me walked out for making false allegations. I was asked to apologize to the Supervisor. I refused. I was then harassed and bullied by every supervisor on my tour.

    Dec 13, 2021
  • anon

    I filed a complaint with the union and management concerning two individuals who continuously sexually harassed me, even after I told them to stop. Management did not take the issue seriously and brushed it under the rug. The individuals were questioned and admitted to doing it. They were still allowed to work and stated that they weren't going to stop. I went as far as contacting the district manager. They did not contact me back, but contacted my postmaster. My postmaster pulled me into her office and reprimanded me, stating that "I needed to stop with this whole Me-Too Movement." The individuals involved made threats towards me for "snitching". I do not feel safe in the workplace and management or the union doesn't care. This whole "no tolerance" policy is a joke. It is only adapted to certain people.

    Dec 13, 2021
  • anon

    I have seen and heard many carriers who have been sexually harassed. They have brought it up to management, and the OIC, and nothing has ever been done to the accused. They tell the victim, you should have said no, or to stop talking to me like that, or it makes me feel uncomfortable. But sometimes the victim, is fearful, and doesn't want to say something like that, and shouldn't have to. Management says oh we have taken care of it, or talked to them about it. Yet the employees, still are working in the same office, with the same carriers, no suspension, no anything. So how does the victim truly know this was even talked about, or taken care of. The victims should know exactly what the punishment was. There have been carriers in my office who were groped, touched, rubbed up on. This makes me sick. A female carrier shouldn't fear working at the post office. Something needs to be done, and management needs to be held accountable to make sure it doesn't happen again.

    Dec 13, 2021
  • anon

    We had a case of sexual harassment that even involved stalking and the first manager they went to did absolutely nothing. Well, come to find out, she is best friend's with the perpetrator's wife. Nothing at all happened to this manager. Her inaction should have resulted in her firing but instead she was moved to a different tour.

    Dec 13, 2021
  • anon

    At the Roanoke Processing and Distribution Center, there are constant sexual harassment and other inappropriate comments made towards various employees by supervisors and other employees. The union does nothing about the matter and retaliation is often made against the victims. I urge the postal inspectors and audit teams to investigate this matter thoroughly. Thank you.

    Dec 13, 2021
  • anon

    I don't know how to report one or who to report it too. I've heard rumors that some people have had sexual harassment accusations but I have only seen them get moved to a different facility

    Dec 12, 2021
  • anon

    I once attempted to bring forward a whole series of complaints against an OIC. He had many complaints from younger female coworkers of grossly inappropriate behavior ranging from sexual intimidation to sending unsolicited nudes, to even sexual acts on the clock in postal vehicles. Customers on his previous routes even complained about receiving nudes and sexually forward texts even now that he is management. The issue is the victims do not trust the process and fear retaliation for coming forward. I attempted to step forward to bring their complaints to a trusted person in management. He confirmed similar accusations that were brought to him years ago when the accused OIC was still a craft employee at a different station. I informed the trusted person in management of the fact that the accused person is on the sex offender registry for committing unspeakable crimes. We both submitted a complaint to the POUM. The result was that the OIC figured out I made a complaint against him and to my understanding there were zero consequences or investigations against him and in fact he attempted retaliation against me. This absolutely confirms the fears of the accusers that they are NOT safe to come forward with complaints. It's a horrible situation.

    Dec 12, 2021
  • anon

    I’ve worked as a Mail Handler at the Pittsburgh P&DC for over 23 years. Yes, the reporting, investigation, and addressing a f reports of harassment has improved but it is STILL not as good as it should be. At the floor level, many things are STILL simply ‘brushed under the rug’.

    Dec 11, 2021
  • anon

    When I asked a PM about ‘zero tolerance’ harassment in the workplace, I was told point blank by a PM that the USPS says that, but it really isn’t that way. USPS does nothing about ANY form of harassment in offices PERIOD.

    Dec 11, 2021
  • anon

    This shouldn’t be just a question about sexual harassment, it should be harassment in general. Postmasters and employees in acting supervisor positions harass, intimidate, belittle, falsely accuse, involve other employees in trying to “catch” someone doing something wrong, falsify documents, withhold pay, do not follow grievances that have been in the employees favor, share confidential information (medical records), etc. and nothing is done. In fact, they get to keep their jobs and are promoted while the employee (me) is driven deeper and deeper into despair and end up losing everything. HR does not communicate and blames (me). You will not do anything either so I’m not sure why this is even being asked. I was good at my job, I shouldn’t be humiliated on a daily basis. Oh and the response I e gotten about harassment is “everyone has a different opinion about what harassment is”.

    Dec 11, 2021
  • anon

    I've seen way too many instances where the accused harasser simply gets moved to another building or even another area of the same building. Even when the sexual harassment was witnessed and corroborated. this enables the person to repeat the same things and does not help the victim to feel secure or safe or even that there is any point to reporting things.

    Dec 10, 2021

Share this post


Recent Comments